Young Silas: 5

(Micklegate Series)

About the Book

The Adventures of an Autistic Boy in Tudor York.

‘Young Silas’ is book 5 in the Micklegate series although it can be read before, during or after the other novels.

In Tudor York, Mary Cooper dotes on the baby who brings light to a loveless marriage realising that he is special. Stand side by side with Silas as he navigates endless challenges ranging from simply understanding others to new adventures, mysteries and intrigues involving people at all levels in Tudor society, his goal ultimately to become a knight of the realm.

If this is your first ‘Micklegate’ experience, it is worth noting that any mysteries that remain seemingly unresolved in this book are explained in the others.

About the Author

Rob has enjoyed a long career in both the education and entertainment sector and continues to study and remain involved with ethics and theology.

He has taught History and Art &Design to students ranging from early teens to undergraduates and has held positions of head of department, head of faculty, head of year and manager within alternative education.

For 15 years he created and managed successful local authority projects supporting and educating those that were sometimes the hardest to reach in society including those who had been bullied and abused, many with special needs including Asperger’s syndrome and autism, some disabled, those who displayed behaviour management issues, others with sexual identity problems and also young mums. However, perhaps his most profound experiences were with those young people with serious health issues and those who were terminally ill.

Rob has also been a lifelong musician and was playing professionally as a young teen, now having performed at hundreds of venues including some tv. In the late 90s he set up Jester Productions Limited when he wrote plays and musicals for theatre companies in addition to the best-known tour operators: Tui, Airtours, Cosmos, Bourne Leisure, First Choice etc and he even completed some writing for the BBC. At Jester, he designed all the costumes and stage sets and in his role as an artist has fulfilled many commissions ranging from magazine work to church interiors.

His love of humour has its roots in performance and so it is no surprise that he incorporated it into ‘The Micklegate Series’ and ‘Be a Teacher’!’ Neither is it hard to spot the parallels between his profound experiences working with needy young people and some characters who you come to love in the sixteenth century.

He lives with his wife, Jo, in Lancashire.

A member of the Society of Authors, he is also a lay member of Edge Hill University’s Research Ethics Committee.

Qn 1: Can you tell us more about your book What is it about?

This is book 5 in the Micklegate series and tells of the early life and adventures of its most popular character, Silas.

Qn 2: Who do you think would be interested in this book, is it directed at any particular market?

So far people of every generation have read the Micklegate series although I’ve sold much more by far to people 55+. Although it is clearly a historical novel, it’s also contains elements of mystery, murder, mystery, intrigue, humour, and time travel.

Qn 3: Out of all the books in the world, and all the authors, which are your favourite and why?

They are mostly historical writers, and my favourites are Tracy Borman, Robert Bolt, Hilary Mantel and C J Sansom.

Qn 4: What guidance would you offer to someone new, or trying to enhance their writing?

Use Meet The Authors which has everything you need in one place at low cost.

Qn 5: Where can our readers find out more about you, do you have a website, or a way to be contacted?

Read More Interviews

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.